History & Mission

Serving Our Members for Over 70-Years

The Richmond Virginia Fire Police Credit Union name is new; but, our heritage is long and strong!

Up until January 2015, we were two separate state-chartered credit unions known as the Richmond Police Department Credit Union and the Richmond Fire Department Credit Union.  The folks that own our credit union are special!  Many of them are firefighters, police officers or emergency rescue personnel who risk their lives to serve and protect the public.  Others are family members of these dedicated public servants and they too have made countless sacrifices. 

It can be difficult for smaller credit unions to offer all the services that larger credit unions provide.  To serve our members better, the Fire Department and the Police Department credit unions joined forces and united we are now stronger! 

Our Roots Run Deep

Both credit unions were state-chartered in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Richmond Fire Department Credit Union was chartered in 1929 and the Richmond Police Department Credit Union was chartered in 1934. We are proud of our combined heritages and of our service to our members. Together we are stronger and we look forward to building on our future together! 

Mission Statement

The Richmond Virginia Fire Police Credit Union, Inc. is sponsored by the City of Richmond, Virginia's Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Police Department and its affiliates.  We are a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative. Our mission is to serve the most precious commodity which is our members and their families.  We are dedicated to providing our members with the best possible financial services and products while maintaining our credit union's long-term financial stability. 

Our commitment is to provide a fair and honest product with a friendly, caring attitude while striving to exceed our member's expectation.  Our service is about the members more so than our bottom-line. Thanks for allowing us to serve the greatest members in the world: YOU!

CEO and Chairman of Board